A Heart for South America

Since February 2020 , I started continue to serve people in need as communications manager for the Swiss NPO indicamino who is running projects in South America.

What does it mean?

Job: 80%

Organisation: indicamino Switzerland (NPO)

Workplace: Wil, Switzerland

Mission: Living the gospel with indigenous people
Position: Communications Manager
Payment: self-financing through donations with a minimum wage for employees in Switzerland

 
Background Story

Three year as a full time volunteer for the Hong Kong based NGO Crossroads Foundation has not changed my perspective only for a short time but has rather caused a complete shift in what I want in life. Instead of going back to a safe and well-payed job in the normal business sector, I have decided to continue serving people in need with my skills in graphic design and communications. At the same time, I was eager to go back to Switzerland after three years abroad to be reunited with my family and friends. The new opportunity to work as communications manager for the Swiss based NPO indicamino has perfectly combined these two desires for me.

 
What moves me

Through my time in Hong Kong and the loss of financial security and my comfort zone, I had the priviledge of experiencing God's presence and provision in my life. My heart for Hong Kong has turned into a heart for people and for God. My eyes have been opened and I can't close them again.  There is so much suffering and hopelessness in this world and although I know, that we can't help everyone,  I want at least contribute my share to help as many people as possible in a practical as well as spritual way.

 
About indicamino

indicamino is an independent Christian missionary orgaisation (NPO) who is fully financend  through donations and runs different projects with ethnical minorities and indigenous people in Peru, Bolivia and Columbia. indicamino was founded 1956 in Switzerland and is supported by churches, Christian communities and friends.

The name "indicamino" plays with the Spanish word for road sign (idicador de camino). indicamino's mission is to be a road sign to Jesus Christ who says about himselft: "I am the way and the truth and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me." (John 14,6)

indicamino has started its mission with the first training center in Peru. Today, they're running 5 training centers in Peru, Bolivia and Columbia with the following projects:

1

Theology

Comprehensive theologic education and bible studies for native South American Christans. The lessons respect their culture and engages with their world view.

2

Vocational training

All projects have the goal to combine help with education. They offer job trainings within their own infrastructure: health clinic, printer, workshop, carpentry, administration, school, guest house, tropical agriculture with small animals and Zebu breeding.

3

Slum work in Lima

In the poor areas of Lima, many children don't have enough to eat. Therefore, indicamino offers daily lunch packages and kids clubs to childrens in the slum areas.  But not only childrens are beneficaries. indicamino also offers classes around money and finances for adults and small business startups.

 
Become a part of the work in South America

indicamino is fully financed trough donations and so are all emloyees. Find everything you need to know about donations and how you can support me on my way here: 

 

© 2020 Copyright by Andrea Kuhn - Visual Communications

Portfolio pictures sponsered by Kurt Zuberbühler - InspirationBild

  • Facebook - Visuelle Kommunikation
  • LinkedIn - Andrea Kuhn
  • Pinterest - Andrea Kuhn
  • Facebook - Ein Herz für Südamerika

Ein Herz für Südamerika

Obwohl Hongkong für immer ein Teil meines Herzens bleiben wird, geht mein Weg nach meinem dreijährigen Freiwilligeneinsatz nun weiter. Seit Februar 2020 führe ich, bei der NPO indicamino Schweiz, die in Südamerika tätig ist, meinen Dienst für Menschen weiter.

Was heisst das?

Job: 80%

Organisation: indicamino Schweiz (NPO)

Einsatzort: Wil, Schweiz

Mission: Mit Südamerikanern das Evangelium leben
Aufgabe: Leiterin Kommunikation / Medien
Lohn: Selbstfinanzierung durch Spenden mit festem Lohnanteil für Mitarbeiter in der Schweiz

 
Wie es dazu kam

Der dreijährige Freiwilligeneinsatz bei der Crossroads Foundation in Hongkong hat nicht nur einen temporären Perspektivenwechsel in mir bewirkt sondern dazu geführt, dass ich mein Leben komplett neu ausrichten möchte. Anstatt wieder zu einem sicheren und gut bezahlten Job in der normalen Wirtschaft zurückzukehren, möchte ich weiter für Menschen im Dienst sein und meine Fähigkeiten im Bereich Kommunikation und Marketing für Non-Profit Organisationen (NPOs) einsetzen. Gleichzeitig, wollte ich aber auch gerne nach dem langen Auslandsdienst wieder in die Schweiz zurückkehren um nahe bei meiner Familie und meinen Freunden zu sein. Die neue Aufgabe als Leiterin Kommunikation / Medien bei indicamino vereint diese beiden Anliegen pefekt.

 
Was mich bewegt

Durch meine Zeit in Hongkong und den damit verbundenen Verlust von finanzieller Sicherheit und gewohntem Umfeld, durfte ich Gottes Gegenwart und Wirken in meinem Leben ganz neu erfahren. Mein Herz für Hongkong ist zu einem Herz für Menschen und für Gott geworden. Mir wurden die Augen geöffnet und ich kann mir nicht vorstellen sie wieder zu verschliessen. In dieser Welt gibt es so viel Leid und Hoffnungslosigkeit und obwohl ich weiss, dass wir nicht allen helfen können, möchte ich doch meinen Beitrag weiter dazu leisten, dass so vielen Menschen wie möglich geholfen wird und zwar praktisch wie auch seelisch.

 
Über indicamino

indicamino ist ein unabhängiges, christliches Missions- und Hilfswerk (NPO), das ganz von Spenden abhängig ist und sich für Randgruppen in Peru, Bolivien und Kolumbien einsetzt. indicamino wurde 1956 in der Ostschweiz gegründet und wird durch Kirchgemeinden, Freikirchen, Gemeinschaften und Missionsfreunde unterstützt.

Im spanisch klingenden Namen indicamino steckt das Wort Wegweiser (indicador de camino). indicamino will Wegweiser sein zu Jesus Christus, der von sich sagt: «Ich bin der Weg und die Wahrheit und das Leben, niemand kommt zum Vater ausser durch mich.» (Johannes-Evangelium 14,6)

Das Missionswerk indicamino begann 1956 unter dem Namen «Schweizer Indianer-Mission» mit dem Aufbau des ersten Ausbildungszentrums im peruanischen Tiefland. Später folgten weitere Zentren. indicamino unterhält folgende Projekte in Südamerika:

1

Theologische Ausbildung

Umfassend theologische Ausbildung und Bibelschulen für indianische Christen. Der Unterricht berücksichtigt die einheimische Kultur und setzt sich mit ihrer Weltanschauung auseinander.

2

Praktische Ausbildung

Projekte von indicamino zielen darauf ab, dass Hilfe mit Ausbildung verbunden ist. Zu den Ausbildungsfeldern innerhalb der eignen Infrastruktur zählen: Krankenstation, Druckerei, Werkstatt, Schreinerei, Tropenlandwirtschaft mit Kleintierprojekt und Zebuzucht, Verwaltung, Schule, Gästehaus.

3

Slumarbeit in Lima

In den Armenvierteln rund um Lima erhalten viele Kinder zu wenig zu essen, deshalb bietet indicamino einen Mittagstisch sowie regelmässige Kinderclubs an. Doch nicht nur den Kindern wird geholfen. Für Erwachsene gibt es Kurse zum Thema "Umgang mit Geld" und Hilfe bei der Verwaltung von Finanzen für Kleinunternehmer.

 
Werde Teil der Arbeit in Südamerika

indicamino wird durch Spenden finanziert und somit auch alle Mitarbeiter. Alles was du zum Thema Spenden und wie du mich weiter auf meinem Weg unterstützen kannst wissen musst erfährst du hier.

 

© 2020 Copyright by Andrea Kuhn - Visuelle Kommunikation

Portfoliobilder gesponsert von Kurt Zuberbühler - InspirationBild

  • Facebook - Visuelle Kommunikation
  • LinkedIn - Andrea Kuhn
  • Pinterest - Andrea Kuhn
  • Facebook - Ein Herz für Südamerika